Arivva’s Board of Directors, Emeriti Members, and Advisors are experts in their fields who volunteer their time, talents, and treasures to ensure that the organization is sustainable, impactful, and true to its values and mission.

Executive Committee

John Ashwoth

Board Chair

Miles Gravel

David Johnson

Vice Chair

City of Tacoma (Ret.)

Sabrina Chmelir


Pierce County

Julie Whitesel, EA


Geffen Mesher & Co.

Board Members

DC Clark


Michelle Goodwater


Myra Griffin

Clover Park Technical College (Ret.)

Deborah Howell

Workforce Central

Robyn Jones

United Way of Pierce County

Angenette Pickett Call

Pacific Lutheran University

Advisory Council

Esther Bennett

Department of Vocational Rehabilitation (Ret.)

Mike Curran

The Walsh Group (Ret.)

Victoria Marques

Puget Sound ESD

Julie Peterson

Foundation for Healthy Generations

Nazzavae Spencer

Student Alum

Executive Director

Dr. Dan Bissonnette, Ed.D.

Ex officio board member

Emeriti Board Members

Frank Hewins, Ed.D.

Franklin Pierce Schools (Ret.)

Kurt Jacobson

JayRay (Ret.)

Dale King

Tacoma Rail

Linda Nguyen

Workforce Central (Ret.)

Arivva is a place of hope and opportunity.

Pierce Center for Arts & Technology, dba Arivva

402 Garfield Street South, Tacoma, WA 98444

Corporate address: PO Box 44046, Tacoma, WA 98448-0046

Send inquiries to info@arivva.org

Arivva’s organizational groundwork embraces anti-racism. Our mission is empowerment through mentorship and learning. There are things all of us can do to fight for racial justice. We invite you to join us in our commitment to listen and lead with courage, compassion, and humility so that life and lives can flourish in our communities. Black lives matter.

Arivva complies with applicable federal civil rights laws and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. See https://civilrights.findlaw.com/civil-rights-overview/what-are-civil-rights.html.